Guidelines for Purchasing Furniture

Due to legislation which changed the State of Colorado statute mandating that public institutions of higher education purchase all office furniture from Colorado Correctional Industries (CCi,) the University has several options for office furniture purchases. CCi must still be allowed the opportunity to bid on projects which will exceed $150,000. “Office” furniture is defined as: task chairs, desks, workstations, conference tables, panel systems, bookcases, file cabinets, and other items which would traditionally be utilized in an institutional office setting.

 

Ergonomics:
It is highly recommended that end-users work with the Ergonomics Program in Environmental Health Services prior to purchasing an office chair and/or making design decisions about a workstation. Contact the Ergonomics Program at x1-2724 or frank.gonzales@colostate.edu to schedule an ergonomics evaluation. For more information regarding the ergonomics program, please visit http://www.ehs.colostate.edu/WErgo/Home.aspx

 

Placing an Order:
All office furniture should be purchased from one of the sources listed below. Where information is provided for a local dealer, we are limited to purchasing the particular line listed from that dealer (i.e., Haworth, Herman Miller, Knoll, and Steelcase.) If departments are unable to find products that meet their needs through one of these sources, please contact Greg Draughon in Procurement Services at x1-6343 or greg.draughon@colostate.edu.

 

Office Furniture Sources:
  • Colorado Correctional Industries (CCi), via Kuali Shop Catalogs for 5% CSU discount
    Kuali Vendor #10901-0
    Chris Brown, chris.brown@doc.state.co.us
    Phone (303) 370-2182
    4999 Oakland St.
    Denver, CO 80239

    Not all of CCi’s products are displayed in the catalog – only the most commonly purchased items. Chris can provide information about the full line of furniture offered by CCi. The 5% CSU discount will not appear until items are added to shopping cart.
  • Haworth, www.haworth.com
    Local dealer: Pear Workplace, www.pearcom.com
    Kuali Vendor #39652-0
    To request quoted:
    Kara Steveson ksteveson@pearwork.com 303-824-2049
    Kaitlin Steveson kksteveson@pearwork.com 303-824-2000
    CSU Sales Rep, Susan Brown sbrown@pearwork.com 303-824-2021
    Park Central, 1515 Arapahoe St.
    Tower 1 Suite 100,
    Denver, CO 80202
  • Herman Miller, www.hermanmiller.com
    Local dealer: Workplace Resource, www.wrcolo.com
    Kuali Vendor #12429-0
    Anticipated future Shop Catalogs vendor.
    Phone (303) 571-5211
    1899 Wynkoop St., Suite 550
    Denver, CO 80202
  • Knoll, www.knoll.com
    Local dealer: Elements, www.workplaceelements.com
    Kuali Vendor #5419-0
    Phone (303) 471-4334
    2501 Blake Street
    Denver, CO 80205
  • OM Workspace (the commercial furniture division of OfficeMax), www.omworkspace.com
    Kuali Vendor #25003-0
    Anticipated future Shop Catalogs vendor.
    Patrick O’Callaghan, Patrickocallaghan@officemax.com or
    Patrick Fogarty, Patrickfogarty@officemax.com
    4690 Geneva Street D-4
    Denver, CO 80011

    OM Workspace purchase requisitions can be made to OfficeMax. Please notify Valerie Scott @ 1-6194 or valerie.scott@colostate.edu when you enter a requisition for OM Workspace to confirm the order with the vendor. Furniture orders cannot be placed using the existing OfficeMax office supply catalog in Kuali Shop Catalogs.
  • Steelcase, www.steelcase.com
    Local dealer: Office Scapes, www.officescapes.com
    Kuali Vendor #9350-0
    Shop Catalogs vendor.
    Tiffany Raulston, traulston@officescapes.com or
    Sharie Grant, sgrant@officescapes.com
    4950 S. College Avenue, Unit A
    Phone (970) 223-5959
    Fort Collins, CO 80525